blue spirit

About us

Blue Spirit has been producing and creating animated series and feature films since 2004.
Blue Spirit also acts as an executive producer and/or service provider for projects developed by French and international producers. The entire process, from pre-production to film editing, is carried out in our studios in Paris, Angoulême and Montreal, following our tried-and-tested production pipeline.

Blue Spirit’s editorial policy is to focus on projects with mainstream appeal while exacting the highest possible standards in terms of writing and image quality. This approach leaves room for “impulse” choices, like the feature-length “My Life as a Zucchini,” directed by Claude Barras in 2016. That film, which won the 2017 César Awards for Best Animation and Best Adaptation, was also nominated for an Academy Award, selected at Cannes, and received accolades at countless festivals, including the Audience Award and Cristal for a Feature Film at Annecy in 2016, the Valois de Diamant at Angoulême, and the Audience Award at Melbourne, San Sebastián, Zurich and Warsaw.

As part of its production structure, Blue Spirit Productions has developed and produced 80 hours of programs since 2006, including the series “The Mysterious Cities of Gold,” “Loopdidoo,” “Emilie,” “UFO,” “Little Chicks” and feature films like Claude Barras’s “My Life as a Zucchini” and Jean-François Laguionie’s “The Painting.”

In 2009, Blue Spirit Productions was notably recompensed with the PROCIREP Award for French Television Producer.

Blue Spirit Productions continues to work on new projects, like the series “Arthur and the Children of the Round Table,” “Alice & Lewis,” “The Borrowers” and “The Baker Street Four,” as well as Jean-François Laguionie’s new film, “Le Voyage du Prince,” and the feature film “Yaya” written by Patrick Marty and adapted from the graphic novels “La Balade de Yaya” (published by Fei).

The subsidiary Just Kids, a newcomer to our group, develops animated series like “Splat the Cat,” based on the picture books by Rob Scotton.

Studios / Lab

Studios

Our studios, situated in Angoulême, Montreal and Paris, are used by numerous French and international partners (Cyber Group Studios, Les Armateurs, Folivari, Passion Pictures, Tf1 Productions, Zodiak Kids Studios) for both their series and feature films.

Over the past 12 years, more than 40 animation films and series – including “The Long Long Holiday,” “Zorro: The Chronicles,” “Mini Ninjas” and “Ernest & Célestine” – have been created in our studios.

Equipped with more than 200 work stations plus the latest cutting-edge 3-D and 2-D animation software, our studios are adapted to work on any type of production.

Our teams’ strong expertise in all aspects of animation production enables us to provide exceptional technical and artistic support for our clients.

 

 

Lab

The Blue Spirit Lab and its development team continually research and refine specialized production tools, allowing us to adapt to the demands of each graphic universe.

This includes, notably, our in-house production and media management software “Simone,” which enables us to follow in real time the creation of all the programs produced in our different studios.

The Lab team also develops tools to help automatize the different stages of our production workflow.

Finally, to ensure we always offer the latest technological innovations to our clients, our Lab continues to explore and create new ways of working with the images of tomorrow: UHD, HDR, VR…

our team

blue spirit

qui sommes-nous – les studios / le lab – l’équipe

Depuis 2004, Blue Spirit produit et fabrique des séries et des longs métrages d’animation.
Blue Spirit intervient également comme producteur exécutif et/ou prestataire sur des projets portés par des producteurs français et étrangers. L’intégralité des travaux, de la pré-production au montage image, s’effectue dans les studios basés à Paris, Angoulême et Montréal selon un pipeline de production éprouvé.

La ligne éditoriale de Blue Spirit Productions se positionne sur des projets grand public en maintenant une exigence forte en termes d’écriture et de qualité d’image. Ce positionnement laisse aussi la place à des projets « coups de cœur » tels que le long métrage « Ma vie de Courgette » réalisé par Claude Barras en 2016. Le film, César 2017 du meilleur film d’animation et de la meilleure adaptation, a été nommé aux Oscars, sélectionné au Festival de Cannes et récompensé dans de nombreux festivals : Prix du Public et Cristal du long Métrage à Annecy en 2016, Valois de diamant à Angoulême, Prix du public à Melbourne, San Sébastian, Zurich, Varsovie…

Depuis 2006 Blue Spirit Productions a développé et produit plus de 80 heures de programmes, dont les séries « Les Mystérieuses Cités d’or », « Grabouillon », « Emilie », « OVNI », « Les Ptites Poules » et les longs métrages « Ma Vie de Courgette » de Claude Barras et « Le Tableau » de Jean-François Laguionie.

En 2009, Blue Spirit Productions a été récompensée par le prix « PROCIREP du producteur français de télévision ».

Blue Spirit Productions travaille sur de nouveaux projets de séries (« Arthur et les enfants de le Table Ronde », « Alice & Lewis », « les Borrowers » et « les 4 de Baker Street »), ainsi que sur le nouveau film de Jean-François Laguionie « Le Voyage du Prince », et le long métrage « Yaya » écrit par Patrick Marty et adapté des  bandes dessinées La balade de Yaya (ed. Fei)…

Nouvelle venue dans le groupe, la filiale Just Kids développe des séries d’animation dont « Splat, le chat » d’après les albums de Rob Scotton.

 

les studios / le lab

Les studios

Les studios situés à Angoulême, Montréal et Paris accompagnent de nombreux partenaires français et étrangers (Cyber Group Studios, Les Armateurs, Folivari, Passion Pictures, Tf1 Productions, Zodiak Kids Studios) sur leurs séries comme sur leurs longs métrages.

En 12 ans, plus de 40 séries et films d’animation dont « Les grandes grandes vacances », « les chroniques de Zorro », « Mini Ninjas », « Ernest et Célestine » ont ainsi été fabriqués au sein des studios.

Equipés de plus de 200 postes de travail avec toute une suite de logiciels d’animation 3D et 2D, nos studios permettent de traiter tout type de production.

De plus, la forte expertise de nos équipes dans tous les domaines de fabrication nous permet d’être une réelle force de proposition technique et artistique envers nos clients.

Le Lab

Avec Blue Spirit Lab et son équipe de développement, la société recherche les outils de production spécialisés permettant de s’adapter à la demande de chaque univers graphique.

Notamment, le logiciel de gestion des médias et de production « Simone » permet de suivre en temps réel la fabrication de tous les programmes produits dans nos différents studios.

En complément, l’équipe de Lab développe des outils d’automatisation dans toutes les étapes de nos workflows de fabrication.

Enfin, pour pouvoir proposer de nouvelles innovations à nos clients, la Lab explore et met en place les workflows intégrant les technologies qui feront les images de demain : UHD, HDR, VR…

l’équipe